Who are we?
iconic harbour
Tenby's iconic harbour. (right-click for larger image)

  We are Tenby Male Choir - a "hwylsome" bunch!
Musical Director and Conductor: Ian Williams
Accompanist: Jill Williams
(no relation)
ian small  Jill Small
click on Jill to find out more about her
Musical Greeting: Sample Medley sung by Tenby Male Choir
from our CD 'Tonau O Gān - Waves Of Song' (2010)
Conductor Wilbur, Accompanist Jill, (Reduced Quality Sample).
Our History
Graham and Pat Stubbs in 1984
Graham and Pat Stubbs
Tenby Male Choir was founded in 1975 by Graham Stubbs, who became its first musical director. Aided by his wife Pat, as the choir's accompanist, Graham led the choir for almost 23 highly successful years. In 1998, Graham handed over the baton to Claire Harrison, who in turn was replaced by Christine Shewry in 2000. Christine served with distinction until November 2006.  Our fourth and current MD, Ian “Wilbur” Williams has been with us since January 2007.  He works closely with our accompanist Jill “no relation” Williams. Together they form an inspirational team, who have greatly developed the choir's musical confidence and dynamic range of performance, making the singing fun and fulfilling.  The choir is also grateful to its vice-president, Dr John Harrison, for his support, encouragement, and additional accompaniment on the organ.  John is director of music at St Mary's Church Tenby, one of our principal venues.
The choir has travelled extensively at home and abroad, performing in Churches, cathedrals and concert halls. Overseas destinations have included Holland, Gibraltar, Ireland,Yugoslavia, Malta, Gran Canaria, Romania and ItalySince its founding, the choir has competed in many competitions and eisteddfodau. It was finalist at the Welsh Association of Male Choir Competition twice, winning the Tumble Eisteddfod on eight occasions and Cardigan on three occasions. It has appeared five times at the Royal Albert Hall Massed Choir concerts, most recently in April 2009.
Over the years, the choir has been privileged to introduce to audiences many talented, local, young people, who are or were students at local schools, in particular The Greenhill School Tenby, which serves south-east Pembrokeshire. Under the guidance of Paul Rapi, Head of Music and Drama, (formerly the choir's assistant MD,) the school constantly nurtures a considerable wealth of new talent. We are much indebted to these "rising stars", their parents and teachers.

Official Photo
Official Photograph, May 2012
Photo by Gareth Davies Photography
List of Choristers
First Tenors Second Tenors Baritones
David Blackmore
Terry Evans
Howard Allen Ken Fryer
John Butland Maurice Griffiths Neville Boughton-Thomas Gordon Hughes
Sasha Clarkson John Large Bryan Harris Arthur Mellin
Denzil Davies Paul Morris Tony Hesslegrave
John Morgan
John L Jones Tom Pearce Duncan Hilling Eric Mullins
David McDermott Ian Prout David James Phil Mumford
Peter Neate George Pryce Allan Keating Geraint Phillips
Keith Nixon Mike Slade Charlie McFee
Alun Rees
Peter Spacey Jim Taylor John Moore Gerald Richards
Eddie Stapleton Paul Varallo Kevin Morgan Ken Sanderson
Calvin Williams Roger Whinney Huw Morris Maurice Trenfield
Gavin Wright Ian Wordley Roger Stephens Geoff Horton-Jones
Trevor Blake

David Stewart-Walvin  

Roger Toms